Mittelfest — Music


Sinfonia Varsovia Wind Quintet

Chiesa di San Francesco
Supported by

60 minutes
26/07 - 19:00

The Wind Quintet of the famous Sinfonia Varsovia brings to Mittelfest a programme combining works by Polish composers and some of the most interesting pieces written and arranged for this type of ensemble.Like a ‘nutshell’, the sounds of the quintet encapsulate the melting pot of cultures and languages of European music. From Rossini to Dvořák, from the Polish composer Bacewicz to the historic conductor Penderecki: a journey through time between Poland and the rest of Europe. Chaos is transformed into order, into a pattern, enclosed in a musical shell.

Italian premiere


Stanisław Moniuszko, Highlanders’ Dances dall’opera Halka (arr. Piotr Kamiński) 
Alexander Zemlinsky, Humoreske (Rondo) 
Antonín Dvořák, Slavonic Dances op. 72 No. 2 (arr. Ulf Guido Schafer) 
Jacques Ibert, Trois pièces brèves
Tadeusz Szeligowski, Allegro con brio
Krzysztof Penderecki, Aria da Three Pieces in Old Style (arr. Piotr Kamiński)
Grażyna Bacewicz, Allegretto e Vivo da Quintetto per strumenti a fiato 
Gioacchino Rossini, Overture dall’opera L’Italiana in Algeri (arr. Bill Holcombe and Bill Holombe Jr)
Georges Bizet, Carmen Suite (arr. David Walter)


Sinfonia Varsovia Wind Quintet 


Andrzej Krzyżanowski flute

Arkadiusz Krupa oboe

Radosław Soroka clarinet

Paweł Piętka French horn

Piotr Kamiński bassoon


production Sinfonia Varsovia


photo © Bartek Barczyk