Mittelfest — Music

They Have Waited Long Enough

Annelies Van Parys, Aftab Darvishi, Calliope Tsoupaki

Teatro Ristori
Supported by


60 minutes
04/09 - 22:00

Katharine Dain, soprano

Raphaëla Danksagmüller, duduk

Anna voor de Wind, clarinet
Osama Abdulrasol, qanun


Ragazze String Quartet:

Rosa Arnold, violin

Jaenita Vriend-van Tongeren, violin

Annemijn Bergkotte, viola

Rebecca Wise, cello


Compositions by:

Aftab Darvishi, Circe

Calliope Tsoupaki, Penelope

Annelies Van Parys, Medea

Gaea Schoeters, libretti


Co-production Wonderfeel and Mittelfest2021, together with Lunalia (BE), Antwerp Liedfest (BE), Oranjewoud (NL), November Music (NL)


With the support of Dutch Performing Arts

Dutch Performing Arts promotes Dutch music, theatre and dance abroad with the contribution of Performing Arts Fund NL

Medea, Circe and Penelope have the chance to tell their story at last. Annelies Van Parys, Aftab Darvishi and Calliope Tsoupaki give each one a voice, a new and contemporary melody. Is Medea a vengeful monster or a mother torn by compassion? Is Circe an evil witch or a profoundly human heroine? And what does Penelope hide behind her supposedly powerless waiting?

National premiere

Show with passages in English with Italian surtitles