Mittelfest — Music

Solo bianco e nero

Geniušas/ Geniushene/Rojac

Chiesa di San Francesco
65 minutes
30/07 - 11:45

Solo bianco e nero (Only black and white): to the eye a simple and opposite two-tone, behind which lies a universe of expressive possibilities. Here is Schubertian romantic vertigo. Here is the compositional finesse for accordion of Alessandro Solbiati’s Due canzoni – premiered here – and Corrado Rojac’s Etudes. In an inevitable crescendo of surprises, Prokofiev’s Sonata No. 5, which the composer had been rewriting for thirty years, takes centre stage. To close, as if in a harmonious circle, Schubert again, with the Fantasia for four hands dedicated to his beloved former pupil Carolina Esterházy.

World premiere

Musical programme

Franz Schubert (1797-1828), Impromptus Ор.90 No. 3 and 4
Lukas Geniušas, piano

Alessandro Solbiati (1956), Due canzoni (world premiere) 
Corrado Rojac, accordion

Sergei Prokofiev (1891-1953), Sonata No. 5 op.38
Anna Geniushene, piano

Corrado Rojac (1968), Studi sulla Risonanza (Nell’attesaNell’invocazioneNel lume)
Corrado Rojac, accordion

Franz Schubert (1797-1828), Fantasia in F minor for piano with four hands, op. 103, D. 940
Lukas Geniušas, Anna Geniushene, piano 4 hands 

with Anna Geniushene, piano
Lukas Geniušas, piano
Corrado Rojac, accordion
production Associazione Sergio Gaggia
in collaboration with Mittelfest2023