Mittelfest — Music

Patricia Kopatchinskaja & Fazil Say for Mittelfest

Patricia Kopatchinskaja and Fazil Say

Teatro Ristori
60 minutes
29/08 - 21:30

Patricia Kopatchinskaja, violin
Fazil Say, piano
Photo © Julia Wesely

Patricia Kopatchinskaja and Fazil Say play for the first time at Mittelfest and go back over the long golden twilight of Central European musical civilization. The Moldovan violinist and Turkish pianist return to the sweet and poignant beauty of the sonatas of the Viennese Franz Schubert and to the dense and nostalgic flow of the Hamburger, adopted by fin-de-siècle Vienna, Johannes Brahms. Finally, as if to close the Habsburg myth that fades away in the immense turmoil of the Great War, Kopatchinskaja and Say play a sonata by Czech Leoš Janáček, with its tormented story: born in 1914 in an initial rush from dreams of independence, it was written again and again after the disillusionments of the war and the decline of the Empire.
Patricia Kopatchinskaja’s brilliance, irony and stage sense, which turn each of her concerts into a deep theatrical experience, combine with the excitement and strength brought about by Fazil Say’s piano talent.

National premiere


Franz Schubert, Sonata No.2 in A minor for violin and piano, Op. 137, D 385
Johannes Brahms, Sonata No.3 in D minor for violin and piano, Op. 108
Leoš Janáček, Sonata for violin and piano (1914)