Mittelfest — Music

Entente harmonique

Lorenza Borrani

Convitto Nazionale Paolo Diacono
78 minutes
04/09 - 18:30

Clara Andrada, flute

Miriam Caldarini, clarinet

Lorenza Borrani, violin

Simone Jandl, viola

Ursina Braun, cello

Sivan Magen, harp

Pietro De Maria, piano

Production Mittelfest 2021

a special thanks to Conservatorio Statale di Musica Jacopo Tomadini di Udine
and Prof.ssa Patrizia Tassini, professor of harp, for loan of the harp

Photo © Julia Wesely

A son and an heir of a fading era are already writing the music of an era to come: the 20th century. Debussy, a master of symbolism, was bewitched by Igor Stravinskji’s Petruška when he was not even thirty years old, to the point of being subject to its influence in his last Sonatas. It is a story of reverse inheritance, in the Europe of the Triple Entente, destined to hold in a vicelike grip the Central Europe of two empires. Seven European musicians, gathered for Mittelfest, retrace the thread of a musical bond which connects not only two composers, but also two periods in our history.

Regional premiere


Claude Debussy, Sonata n. 3 in G minor for violin and piano, L 148
Claude Debussy, Sonata n. 1 in D minor for cello and piano, L 144
Claude Debussy, Sonata n. 2 in F major for flute, viola and harp, L 145
Igor Stravinsky, Petrushka (arranged by Yuval Shapiro – version for lute, clarinet, violin, viola, cello, harp and piano)

In case of bad weather, the show will be held in Chiesa di S. Francesco, at 8.30 pm.